Exciting news :)

Yesterday, we had a nephrology appointment and all is well. Whew! I have begun taking the kids’ blood pressure at home manually, so I was curious to see how I was doing. My collection of readings seems in line with the office’s, so I was happy. Though, I did not bring in my numbers because I am not confident enough doing it, that I didn’t want to be discouraged. Any way, we figured out that Marseille’s diastolic numbers can tend to be a little low, which could explain why she complains of headaches a lot and gets tired so easily.  Yes, I know this is not really exciting news… We are going to continue monitoring until December and then decide what steps need to be taken next.

Okay now onto the exciting news… in June the kids had to get echo-cardiograms. Due to their high blood pressure, we want to make sure that there is not damage to their hearts. It has been two years since their last echo and the results of those confirmed that Bentley had thickening tissue on his left ventricle. But since careful monitoring of his blood pressure and medications… plus God’s kindness, Bentley’s heart has healed and it is soft and normal again! I was so excited to hear that news. Marseille’s heart is still normal, so I was grateful to hear she still does not have any damage. I tried to explain to Bentley, that God has used medicine and the doctors to heal his heart and he was so confused. Considering, he had no idea that there was anything wrong!

Also, while we were out running errands, two people actually apologized to the kids when they guessed at the kids age. Our kids get noticed everywhere they go, so being told that they are “so small for their age” and trying to convince people that they are the age that the kids say they are is not easy task. Especially, when the kids are right there! Well, this can be very frustrating to me because I do not want them to be self-conscious of their size, which they have begun to notice on their own.  I was so grateful when the two woman that asked their age, where kind enough to correct themselves to the kids when they made comments about their size and age. For me, that was pretty exciting too!

IMG_5186 IMG_5616 IMG_5683

Well, that is our big news! Hope we didn’t let you down!

xo, nikki :)

4 thoughts on “Exciting news :)”

  1. Praise God!!! So grateful for positive medical updates! Love that. So thankful too for the tender hearts of those two women. We are all curious about other people and their situations — our brains are wired to make sense of things and of what we see — but sometimes our curiosity can get in the way of our manners and we say things or ask questions that may not be appropriate. I’ve done it plenty myself and have had it done to me and my kiddos numerous times.

  2. I must admit, I was sorta hoping maybe there was some pregnancy news. :) But YAY!!!! for great health results!! Praise God! Let’s play soon!

Let me know what you think!

