Daily Suffering

Time for the next question: daily suffering and pain, watching your children suffer and being powerless to take it away?

I don’t really have a good answer for this one. To be completely honest, I am not a super sensitive mom. This is probably God’s blessing on me. I am sad that Bentley and Marseille have to walk through this but I really don’t think a lot about them suffering or taking it away. I am not trying to be flippant, or uncaring, I really just don’t think about it. Besides giving my children a lot of medicine each day, I really don’t view them or treat them differently. They appear normal and we live each day as I think most normal families do. I don’t dwell on why God has chosen this path for them, and I hope that because I don’t question, they won’t question it either. If anything, I pray that this disease causes them to cling to God quicker than most.

Would I love for them not to suffer? Um, definitely yes! Would I love for them to be healed? I pray for it daily.  If I could take it away I would, but I can’t and no amount of worrying or questioning is going to take it away. God has chosen to bless us with this disease, and I am not saying that sarcastically. I think Laura Story says it wonderfully:

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
And what if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near
What if my greatest disappointments
Or the achings of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
And what if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are Your mercies in disguise

~Blessings by Laura Story

I don’t know if this makes any sense! I love my children but God loves them more, more than I ever can or could. I learned from the minute, literally, that Bentley was born that my children are not mine. I have to trust God completely that He knows what is best for Bentley and Marseille and if ARPKD is what is best right now…. bring it! When Danny and I are discouraged in our situation we always come back to the same thing: it could always be worse.

xo, nikki :)

1 thought on “Daily Suffering”

  1. Nikki, Blessings by Laura Story at this moment in my life is one of my most favorite songs. You are right, it pretty much says it all. You and Danny have been given two very special angels sent straight from Heaven above. When I read your blog I get such a blessing. You, Danny and the children are so special to me. I don’t get to respond to your blog at work, we are not allowed. So, today, I got online to look you up and say thank you for the blessing you are in my life. I keep you and your family in my prayers. Danny is such a Godly man and it is really a pleasure to work with him.

Let me know what you think!

